23 Things They Don't Tell You about Capitalism

Voorkant
Bloomsbury Publishing USA, 2 jan. 2011 - 304 pagina's
INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER

"For anyone who wants to understand capitalism not as economists or politicians have pictured it but as it actually operates, this book will be invaluable."-Observer (UK)

If you've wondered how we did not see the economic collapse coming, Ha-Joon Chang knows the answer: We didn't ask what they didn't tell us about capitalism. This is a lighthearted book with a serious purpose: to question the assumptions behind the dogma and sheer hype that the dominant school of neoliberal economists-the apostles of the freemarket-have spun since the Age of Reagan.

Chang, the author of the international bestseller Bad Samaritans, is one of the world's most respected economists, a voice of sanity-and wit-in the tradition of John Kenneth Galbraith and Joseph Stiglitz. 23 Things They Don't Tell You About Capitalism equips readers with an understanding of how global capitalism works-and doesn't. In his final chapter, "How to Rebuild the World," Chang offers a vision of how we can shape capitalism to humane ends, instead of becoming slaves of the market.
 

Wat mensen zeggen - Een review schrijven

Gebruikersbeoordelingen

5 sterren
8
4 sterren
12
3 sterren
0
2 sterren
0
1 ster
0

LibraryThing Review

Gebruikersrecensie  - dougb56586 - LibraryThing

The 23 things of the title are specific criticisms the author makes against “Free Market” economics. I read and enjoyed his earlier book, “Bad Samaritans”. I enjoyed this book as well, but with have ... Volledige review lezen

LibraryThing Review

Gebruikersrecensie  - bicyclewriter - LibraryThing

National and world economics is such a confusing thing to normal folks, and this book does a super job of simplifying things in a way that helps the reader see the big picture and the context. The ... Volledige review lezen

Geselecteerde pagina's

Inhoudsopgave

There is no such thing as a free market
1
Companies should not be run in the interest of their owners
11
Most people in rich countries are paid more than they should be
23
The washing machine has changed the world more than the internet has
31
Assume the worst about people and you get the worst
41
Greater macroeconomic stability has not made the world economy more stable
51
Freemarket policies rarely make poor countries rich
62
Capital has a nationality
74
Africa is not destined for underdevelopment
112
Governments can pick winners
125
Making rich people richer doesnt make
137
People in poor countries are more
157
More education in itself is not going
178
Despite the fall of communism we
199
Big government makes people more
221
Good economic policy does not require
242

We do not live in a postindustrial age
88
The US does not have the highest living standard in the world
102
Notes
265
Copyright

Overige edities - Alles weergeven

Veelvoorkomende woorden en zinsdelen

Over de auteur (2011)

Ha-Joon Chang was born in Seoul, South Korea, and teaches Economics and Development Studies at the University of Cambridge. His books include the international bestseller Bad Samaritans: The Myth of Free Trade and the Secret History of Capitalism, Kicking Away the Ladder, winner of the Myrdal Prize, and 23 Things They Don't Tell You About Capitalism. Chang was awarded the Leontief Prize for Advancing the Frontiers of Economic Thought. He lives in Cambridge with his wife, Hee-Jeong Kim, and two children, Yuna, and Jin-Gyu.

Bibliografische gegevens