Mr. Skene as to certain Pictish words alleged by him to be common also to the Gaelic nomenclature, and to the supposed non-appearance in Welsh topography of certain terms applied to places in Pictland.

A discussion took place on the subject of this interesting paper, in which Mr. Stuart, Colonel Robertson, Mr. M'Nab, and Mr. Joseph Robertson took part.

III. Notice of Cairns called "Fairy Knowes," in Shetland, recently examined by Mr. D. D. Black, F.S.A. Scot.

These were found on Mr. Black's lands of Kergord, and two of them were described as circular, or somewhat oval, cairns of small stones, the smaller one measuring four or five yards in diameter, and the larger six times that size. One of these "knowes" at Stensell was recently examined for the Anthropological Society, but it is believed without any result. In the other, at Housegord, were found fragments of an urn, a small oblong piece of sandstone pierced with a hole at one end, a large glass bead, blue, striped with white. About a mile north from this an urn was recently found, set in the soil and covered by pieces of slate. The urn contained burned bones and dust; and it is believed that a fairy knowe was formerly placed on the spot where it was found. These are the only urns discovered in Shetland, so far as Mr. Black can hear,— a circumstance which contrasts strongly with the state of matters in Orkney, where urns are wonderfully common.

[ocr errors]

IV. An Amended Reading of Two Runic Inscriptions in the Chamber at Maeshowe. By Mr. Ralph Carr, in a Letter to Mr. Stuart. These inscriptions form Nos. 13 and 14 of Mr. Farrer's work on Maeshowe. Mr. Carr differs from the reading of them given by the northern antiquaries, both in the letters and the division of the words. He concludes that the inscriptions show that the Gaelic people were deeply affected by the violation of the "Howe," and that therefore it was the work of their own race, not of any preceding and forgotten people. The inscriptions are by different writers-one of whom accuses the "Jerusalem pilgrims" of the breach of the "Howe," and the abduction of treasure, while the other excuses them. Both have sympathy with the native people. One records their gallantry, the other their sorrows; while both ascribe to them the erection of the "Howe."

Mr. Stuart stated that the late Professor Munch had, before his death, communicated to him an amended reading of the thirteenth inscription, which, so far as it went, corresponded with the reading now suggested by Mr. Carr.

A small square-shaped iron bell, found near Wansford, Northamptonshire, was exhibited by Mr. C. W. Peach.

Several donations to the museum and library were announced, including portions of urns, stone hammer-head, &c., found in excavating in Shetland, by D. D. Black, F.S.A. Scot.


YORKSHIRE PHILOSOPHICAL SOCIETY, Jan. 16.-The Archbishop of York, who was elected President of this Society at the annual meeting

in February, 1865, delivered the inaugural address, upon the intimate connection between language and literature.

At the last meeting of the Council of the Yorkshire Philosophical Society, the secretary read a letter from the Very Rev. Dean Stanley, in reference to the proposed restoration of the Chapter-House of Westminster Abbey, requesting the Yorkshire Philosophical Society to support the application now being made by various learned societies for the restoration of the Chapter-House at the public expense.

The Council adopted a memorial to the Lords of the Treasury, urging the restoration of the Chapter-House of Westminster out of the national funds. The petition, which has been signed by his Grace the Archbishop of York, the President of the Society, has been forwarded to head-quarters.

MANCHESTER LITERARY AND PHILOSOPHICAL, Dec. 18, 1865.— Mr. Parry exhibited some sections of fossil wood and Echinus spines, most beautifully cut by Mr. John Butterworth, of Oldham, and presented some of the slides to the section. He also presented to the meeting, for distribution among the members, mounted slides of the contents of a shark's stomach, from the Madras coast, consisting almost entirely of Diatomaceæ.-Mr. Hurst made a few remarks on late improvements in illuminating opaque objects under the higher powers of the microscope. He said they consisted of three different methods: first, that of H. E. Smith, of Kenyon College, America, described in the English Mechanics' Magazine of the 20th Oct., 1865, in an extract from the American Journal of Science and Arts; secondly, a modification of the foregoing by Mr. Dancer, of this Section, who places the thin glass or reflector between the eye-piece and the Wenham prism, cutting an aperture in the body of the microscope to admit the light. This dispenses with the objection inherent to adaptors, and theoretically seems the most perfect of these new methods; but Mr. Hurst's experience in its use was as yet too limited to form an opinion. He hoped, however, to report on the subject at the next meeting; thirdly, that invented by Mr. Dancer, who places a circular mirror over the oblique tube of the microscope, previously removing the eye-piece the light is thrown down to the Wenham prism, and thence through the objective on to the object. The only disadvantage of this method was that of not admitting of binocular vision; otherwise, its simplicity, cheapness, and great facility of adjustment render it far preferable to the others, while its effects are fully equal to theirs. It answers, moreover, equally well by day or lamp light, and does not require a condenser to be used. Mr. Hurst thought every binocular microscope would be fitted with it when their owners had seen its working. Mr. Coward then exhibited some interesting plants from India, illustrating abnormal forms of different natural families.

Dec. 26.-Mr. Binney, F.R.S., exhibited some singular calcareous nodules found in the lower coal seams of Lancashire and Yorkshire, full of beautiful specimens of fossil wood, showing structure even to the smallest striæ of the tubes. These nodules were found in several seams of coal, but were always associated, so far as yet known, with beds of fossil shells lying immediately above them.

Correspondence of Sylvanus Urban.

Sin scire labores,

Quære, age: quærenti pagina nostra patet.

[Correspondents are requested to append their Addresses, not, unless it is agreeable, for publication, but in order to facilitate Correspondence.]


1. MR. URBAN,-The family of La Cloche is one of very early settlement in Jersey, and for some generations one of its younger branches possessed the manor of Longueville, a property inherited from the family of Nicolle, and transmitted a few generations later, through heiresses, to the Burrards, now of Lymington, Hants. At the period of the Rebellion, the Rev. Stephen la Cloche was one of the prominent leaders of the Royalist party, and the bosom friend of the governor of the island, Sir Philip de Carteret-the De Carteret who was, perhaps, best known in England as the custodian and friend of the famous William Prynne. The late bishop of St. Malo, Msgr. de Grimouville-Larchant, an ardent genealogist, and a resident for many years in Jersey, writes, in 1816, most emphatically of the loyalty, as well as the antiquity and fame, of the family. A pedigree of La Cloche, from the year 1320 to the present time, will be found in my "Armorial of Jersey," from which also is taken the accompanying plate of the arms and quarterings borne by my friend, Mr. John la Cloche, the present head of the family.


The visits of Charles II. to Jersey, as Prince and King, have been treated most exhaustively and interestingly by the learned Dr. Hoskins of Guernsey. From this work, entitled "Charles II. in the Channel Islands," it appears that Prince Charles landed first in Jersey on Friday,

See G. M., Jan., 1866, p 22.

The Arms borne by John la Cloche are as follows:-1, La Cloche; 2, Le Bastard; 3, Planson; 4, Van Gangelt; 5, Patriarche; 6, Hamptoune; 7, De La Roque; 8, Sarre; 9, De Beauvoir; 10, Langée; 11, Shoosmith; im paling Le Cronier.-CRESTS, Le Cronier; Le Bastard; De Beauvoir. The Arabic inscription, in token of the Eastern adventures of some of the earlier members of the family, is taken from Acts ii. 8.


the 17-27th of April, 1646, being then in his seventeenth year, and left the island for Paris after a stay of "dix se maines, sauf un jour," as Chevalier, the local Pepys, remarks. The Prince's retinue, we learn, including noblemen, gentlemen, tradesmen, soldiers, and servants, amounted to no less than 300 individuals. His Royal Highness on his arrival immediately established his headquarters at Elizabeth Castle, built on an islet in the centre of St. Helier's Bay, and accessible from the mainland at low water only. While there he was under the tutelage of Chancellor Hyde, afterwards Earl of Clarendon, who was engaged even then in the preparation of his "History of the Rebellion." The Prince gained the hearts of the Jersiais by his frank and urbane demeanour; he invited the gentry to dinners and fêtes; he reviewed the troops, regular and militia; amused himself in sailing in a yacht, built for him at St. Malo; and, considering the evil times on which his race had fallen, appears to have led a happy and careless existence. But it seems there was a reverse to the picture, for it is said he looked upon the dull insulated fortress in which he was shut up more as a prison than a palace; that he was never allowed to go on shore without a retinue, for fear of an ambuscade; and that with no amusement save his painted barge, no companions but the lords of his council, kept as a school-boy,-nay, "snubbed ' even-by the choleric and gouty Chancellor of the Exchequer, he panted for the gaieties of Paris, whither it suited the political views of Jermyn, Digby, Wentworth, and others, to allure him. He returned, however, to the island from St. Germain's, as King, though yet uncrowned, on the 17th September, 1649, and finally left Jersey en route for Breda on the

[graphic][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][subsumed][ocr errors][merged small]

By whom this Plate is presented to the Work.

« VorigeDoorgaan »