« VorigeDoorgaan »
acts of mercy, and in place of the seventh act the subject is
The windows were put up as memorials to the following:
William Charles Ellis. South
Three children of the
Rev. W. G. Luckman.
Rev. James Skinner.
Christiana Lancaster. During the alterations several fragments of Norman, Early English, and Jacobean work were found under the old floor and built into the walls. These were collected, and can now be seen in a recess in the wall at the end of the chapel. It is evident that the chapel was built with materials of an older ecclesiastical building.
OCTAGON CHAPEL (EPISCOPAL).
The Octagon Chapel in Milsom Street, was erected in 1767, by the well-known architect, Lightholder. As its name implies it is octagonal in form, with recesses and fire-places. The altar-piece, representing the Pool of Bethesda, was painted by William Hoare. The building is private property. Originally it belonged to Mr. Gardiner, father of the Rev. Dr.
Gardiner, from whom it descended to his son, the Rev. George Gardiner, with whom for many years was associated the Rev. Fountayne Elwin.
In 1850, the Rev. W. C. Magee was appointed joint incumbent, and then sole incumbent. He resigned in 1860, and after filling many distinguished posts became bishop of Peterborough in 1868.
ALL SAINTS' CHAPEL (EPISCOPAL).
All Saints' Chapel, Lansdown, built in 1794, is said by the Rev. J. N. Wright, in his “Historic Guide to Bath,” to be one of the less ambitious imitations of the Church of the Holy Sepulchre. The imitation, if any, must be in the ground plan only, not in the arrangement of the gallery. That gallery was originally carried round the interior of the building, even on the recess where the altar stands. There are twelve windows, which light the gallery, and in former times each window bore an oval pane with the head of an Apostle encircled outside the pane of stained glass with radiant points. These Apostles' heads have been long ago taken away, but the radiance was significantly left.
There was an oil painting of the Transfiguration, by Barker, hanging upon the north wall opposite the pulpit and reading desk, which was removed some years ago, but by whom we cannot tell, or where it is now deposited ; and a transparency, representing the Last Supper, formerly filled the window over the altar. That is also gone.
The alterations made in 1874 were as follows :—The pews, which were provided with doors and strong locks, were high, narrow, and uncomfortable, and placed so as to face southward towards the pulpit and reading desk, were converted into open, comfortable benches, and turned eastward to face the altar. The principal aisle was made to run east and west ; the pulpit was separated from the reading desk, and these were placed one on each side of the aisle near the Sacrarium. The portion of the gallery which led over the altar was taken away, and the organ removed to the southeast corner of the gallery.
Much more remains to be done in order to give a more sacred character to a building whose site seems to render every architectural effort in this way most difficult. Palmer, the architect, who planned the whole building, with a dwellinghouse underneath, completely threw away the opportunity of placing a becoming church upon one of the most beautiful sites in England.
KENSINGTON CHAPEL (EPISCOPAL). Kensington Chapel forms a fourth chapel of ease to Walcot. It is incorporated in a range of buildings, called Kensington Place, on the eastern side of the London Road; was erected by Mr. Palmer, and opened in January, 1795.
St. PAUL'S CHAPEL (EPISCOPAL).
St. Paul (Corn Street).—This chapel was built in 1785 by the Roman Catholics with the money received in compensation for one destroyed in the “No Popery” riots. It passed into the hands of the Church in 1843, and was transferred from St. James to St. Paul when the latter parish was formed.
THOMAS STREET CHAPEL (EPISCOPAL). Thomas Street Chapel, erected in 1830, is a chapel of ease to Walcot.—There are Chapels for the use of the inmates attached to the Mineral Water Hospital, the Royal United Hospital, and the Female Home and Penitentiary, all described in connection with the institutions,
LAURA CHAPEL (EPISCOPAL).
Laura Chapel stands in Henrietta Street, Laura Place, and was erected in the year 1796. The Rev. Mr. Leeves built it it on a tontine scheme. It has at different periods been held by many distinguished preachers, of whom the Rev. Dr. Randolph and, afterwards, the Rev. Edward Tottenham, especial mention may with propriety be made.
ROMAN CATHOLIC CHURCHES.
S. JOHN'S CAURCH AND PRIORY.
This church, built from the design of Mr. Hansom, of Clifton, stands on the site between the South Parade and the Great Western Railway Station, which was intended by Wood, when he designed the Parades, as a large open forum—a grand design not carried into effect.
The first stone was laid in October, 1861. The internal dimensions of the building are 140 ft. by 60 ft., increased at the transept to 73 ft. ; the spire, 200 ft. high. The arcade, separating the nave from the aisles, has circular pillars of polished red Devonshire marble, surmounted by elaborately carved capitals of Ancaster stone. The walls are faced on both sides with freestone. The chancel is the same height and width as the nave, and is terminated by a semi-octagonal apse ; on each side of the chancel are chapels which are connected by moulded arches. Around the lower portion of the chancel wall is an arcade of moulded arches, resting on marble shafts.
The sacristies are placed at the south-east, and are nected with the chancel by a corridor running round the apse, and entering behind the reredos and High Altar.
The ground at the east end being considerably lower than the street, a second range of rooms is obtained under the sacristies, having a corridor communicating with the adjoining priory, the residence of the clergy. Beyond this, to the south, are an extensive range of School Buildings. It is chiefly to the self-denying zeal of the late Father Worsley, who spent most of his working life in Bath, that these elegant and complete buildings have been erected at great cost.
St. Mary's CHURCH.
St. Mary's Catholic Church, situated in the Julian Road, is an elegant edifice in the Decorated style of architecture. At present the building is incomplete, but consists of chancel, nave, south aisle, and side chapel. The total length of the building is 112 ft. 6 in., the width 36 ft., and accommodation is afforded for 350 worshippers. On the north side of the sanctuary are the sacristies, over which is the organ-chamber. When completed, the church will be enlarged by the addition of a north aisle, with a baptistery at the west end.
The side chapel, which is separated from the sanctuary by an arcade of Pointed arches, contains a handsome marble altar manufactured in Rome. The stained window over the High Altar contains representations of the Annunciation, the Visitation, the Nativity, the Flight into Egypt, and the Coronation. In the centre is the figure of “Our Lady Help of Christians,” the patroness of the Church.
The building was solemnly opened for divine service by Cardinal Manning on May 3rd, 1881, the older edifice in Montpelier, which it was intended to supersede, having been