« VorigeDoorgaan »
parliament. This immense privilege, under the old regime, meant apparently that the whole representative power of the country was vested in a few corporate bodies, but this was not quite the case, for public opinion did, though imperfectly, exercise a restraining influence in all such matters.
THE POLICE STATION, ORANGE GROVE. A recent Bath Guide informs us that the Police Station is ' a substantial structure, with a Norman elevation, in the Orange Grove, occupied by the police.” We could wish this were true, but it is not, because we know that there are cells in which sometimes are to be found a class of people whose respect for the property belonging to others is not great ; some, whose walk in life is anything but exemplary, and the irregularity of whose gait would bring them to the gutter if it did not bring them into the arms of policemen, whose mercy is equalled only by their sense of duty and their unerring instincts as to the best temporary mansion for this class of Her Majesty's subjects, some who, having once been fair, have lived to be only frail, and in proportion to the loss of all that a woman should value, have acquired a facility of expression which now and then commends them to the special custody of A 21 or B 32, in the cell of repentance ; others, again, who have committed more heinous offences, find a temporary residence within these cells until their fate is determined by a wise recorder or a wise judge. The force consists of eightyseven, all told. These are divided thus :—one chief constable, five inspectors, thirteen sergeants, and sixty-eight constables. The chief constable is Col. Gwyn, and we confess we prefer his room and his company to that of any other officer in this "structure with a Norman elevation.” First, the gallant colonel is a most pleasant gentleman and excellent chief ; next, he has the best room, which, moreover, is the most remote from the cells, which inspires a feeling of safety in this
parlous” mansion, “ erected in 1867 from the design and under the direction of Major Davis," who is the city surveyor of works, in ordinary language. It should be mentioned that there are Quarter Sessions in Bath, and, to facilitate the passing of prisoners to the court, a subterranean way connects the Guildhall with the Police Office, and that a part of the old city gaol, in Grove Street, is used as a barracks for a part of the force.
The force is a well conducted and efficiently disciplined body of men. We do not claim for them that ideal state of excellence which some persons think they ought to attain to. Doubtless, now and then some of the weaknesses of humanity manifest themselves even in policemen ; but when it is considered how many temptations assail them, and how few charges are brought against them, we confess we are optimists enough to say that we are proud of a force by which the peace of the city and its material interests are watched over with so much care and so little fuss.
Bathwick, situated on the banks of the River Avon, was incorporated with the City or parliamentary Borough of Bath, by the Reform Act of 1832. Its name, Bath wyche or whych, signifies a village or town near Bath, and for centuries it was neither more nor less than what its name imported, namely, a small, straggling village, extending along a portion of Bathwick Street, on the natural level of the soil, terminated by its
quaint old church, which occupied identically the site of the junction of Henrietta road with the main street, the ancient name of which it still retains. The original level of this quaint village may be seen when its present condition is compared with the Villa Fields, the old churchyard, and the site of St. John's Church.
On the passing of the Municipal Corporations' Act in 1835, Bathwick became an integral part of the city, and in conjunction with a portion of Walcot," extending from the east side of Cleveland place to the end of Grosvenor place, forming a distinct and separate ward, called “ Bathwick Ward.”
Collinson says—“The situation of this vill, however, during the winter months, is not desirable, the air being damp and foggy, and the meads, which almost encircle it, frequently under water by the overflowing of the river, from sudden rains ; and when the wind sets in westerly, the smoke of a great part of the city is driven over it.”3
• The present two Churches are described amongst the City Churches. The old Church of Bathwick was dedicated to S. Mary. It had a stunted, battered, western tower, of a kind of Gothic style ; on the south side there were two clumsy buttresses, an Early English window, two of a later style, and no clerestory. Ou the north side it had one buttress, and we believe one window only, of a Perpendicular character; while the chancel window was evidently of a much more recent date. The roof was almost flat, and the whole building was a quaint-looking structure. The interior was plainness itself, otherwise more of it would have been preserved ; as it is, the only portion of it now to be seen is the chancel arch, in the present mortuary chapel, which stands in the old burying ground. The ancient font (Early English), the pulpit of a more recent date, and a few of the rude monuments (in situ) from the old church, are preserved in the same chapel.
Successively enfranchised under the same Acts, and incorporated with the borough.
3 It is well to state that since this was written one hundred years ago, the conditions are changed. The lower levels are raised, and drained, the banks improved, and are being still further improved, by the construction of a sea wall of considerable dimensions and strength, between Bathwick Bridge and the North Parade Bridge.
“The lands are very rich, and on account of their nearness to Bath let as meadow, from three to four pounds an acre. A manufacture of broadcloth was carried on here.'
“In the two meads between this parish and the city are some agreeable walks, much frequented in summer evenings both by the company and the inhabitants. A few Roman coins have, at different times, been found here. The manor of this vill was given by King William the Conqueror to Geffrey, Bishop of Coutance, in Normandy, whose property here is thus surveyed in the great Norman record.
“The Bishop himself holds Wiche. Aluric held it in the time of King Edward, and gelded for four hides. The arable is four carucates. In demesne are three carucates, and four servants, and one villane, and ten cottagers. There is a mill of thirty-five shillings rent, and fifty acres of meadow, and one hundred and twenty acres of pasture. It is worth seven pounds.
"This Geffrey, bishop of Coutance, had a distinguished command at the battle of Hastings ; he was, it had been said, of a noble Norman extraction, but much more skilful in arms than in divinity, in the knowledge of training up soldiers than of leading his proper flock in the paths of peace. However, for his signal services, he was highly rewarded by the Conqueror, having no less than two hundred and four score lordships in England given him by that king. He was likewise in many other battles against the English and Danes, and always meeting with good success, obtained immense possessions in this country. He died in 1093, and
of his estates being seized on by the crown, were disposed of to different favourites. In 1293, the conventual estates in Wick and in Wolley, then called from the circumstance Wick-Abbas and Wolley-Abbas, were valued at £12 5s. 4d. 4 Edward II. it was found not to the king's damage, to grant license to Roger le Forester to give one messuage and forty acres of land in Bathwyk to the Abbess and monks of Wherwell, and 'We think this latter statement very doubtful.
their successors for ever. In the eighth of the same reign, license was also given to Henry, the son of Henry le Wayte, and Lawrence de Overton, to give one messuage, twenty acres of land, etc., in Bathwyck, to the said Abbess and convent, who in the record are said to hold their lands here of the King in capite by barony.
“The convent enjoyed this manor till the year of their dissolution, when it came to the crown, and therein continuing sometime, was at length, 1 and 2 Philip and Mary, granted with its appurtenances and the adowson of the church to Edmund Neville, Knight.”
In 1691, Bathwick passed from the Neville family to the Earl of Essex, together with the Manor of Wrington and Burrington. In 1709, the Earl of Essex died, having provided in his will that the estate of Bathwick, with Wrington and Burrington, should be sold for the payment of his debts, such sale to take place after his only son attained his majority.
In 1718, a sum of £7,500 was advanced by Child, the banker, to meet certain family claims.
In 1720, a further sum of £10,000 was raised upon the property, and in 1722, the whole of the mortgages amounted to £42,500. On the 22nd March, 1726, the estates of Wrington and Burrington and Bathwick were sold to William Pulteney, afterwards the Right Honourable William Pulteney, and then Earl of Bath.
At this time the net rentals of Bathwick estate amounted to less than £300 a year, the estate being occupied by D. Gingell, for which he paid £241 per annum, the mills were let for £12, and a tenement for £5.
On the Earl's death he bequeathed the estate unto his bror the Hon. H. Pulteney, Esq., his hrs and asss for ever. Copy of Portion of Will of General Harry Pulteney.
"Proved in Prerogative Court, 10th July, 1764.