« VorigeDoorgaan »
[Unfortunately, owing to a misconception, the Chapels here
described were omitted in their proper places. ]
TRIM STREET CHAPEL.
This congregation was originally formed after the passing of the Act of Uniformity in 1662. By that Act many ministers were ejected from livings in Bath and the neighbouring villages. Twenty-six years, however, elapsed before the Nonconformists of this city obtained such toleration as allowed of their having a place of public worship and a permanent ministry. The first minister appears to have settled here about 1688– the Rev. Christopher Taylor.
It has been said that, at this time, the congregation met in a shear-shop, Bath being then a clothing town. 1n 1692 they removed to a meeting-house, which they had built in Frog Lane, near what is now New Bond Street.
The present building was erected in 1795 at a cost of about £2,500, and was considerably altered and renovated in 1860.
Most members of the Congregation adopt the Unitarian belief, although the chapel, in accordance with their principle, is founded by trust-deed for the worship of Almighty God. No control is attempted or desired over the religious opinions of those who attend the services. All are free to form their own faith.
We believe that, after the present chapel was built, the Rev. David Jardine was the first minister. He was a man of eminent ability and distinguished for his many noble qualities. In 1798 the Rev. John Prior Estlin, of Bristol, edited and published a series of Jardine's Sermons, delivered in the chapel, in 2 vols., 8vo. Another gentleman, of equal eminence, connected with this historic place of worship, was the late Rev. Joseph Hunter, whose zeal in promoting the literary and material interests of Bath was always conspicuous, and entitle
him to one of the highest places in the gallery of local worthies.
Connected with the congregation are various institutionsa Sunday School; Social Union, established to promote friendly intercourse ; Ladies' Working Society, which prepares garments for distribution among the poor ; Provident Society, the visitors of which collect from more than 500 members weekly at their homes ; Mothers' Meeting and Band of Hope ; Field and Discussion Society.
The present Minister is the Rev. F. W. Stanley, 2, Richmond Hill ; and the Treasurer, Jerom Murch, Esq., Cranwells.
Hay HILL CHAPEL.
St. Werburgh's Church, or Sanctuary Chapel, was one of the early mediæval ecclesiastical structures, outside the city boundaries. On a portion of the site of this early church now stands a Baptist Chapel, erected in 1869, at a cost of nearly £3,000. The site presented many architectural difficulties, which were happily overcome by Messrs, Wilson and Willcox, the style of architecture being Early Pointed Gothic. In the rear is a small vestry, and beneath the whole a spacious schoolroom.
This Chapel, in the Byzantine style, was built in 1854, from designs by Messrs. Goodridge and Son, the cost being about £5,000. On the retirement of the late Rev. W. Jay from Argyle Chapel (see Argyle Chapel) a secession from that congregation occurred, when it was determined to erect this chapel, and in compliment to their former pastor, whose residence was at Percy Place, the secessionists called it " Percy Chapel."
WRITTEN BY MR. R. E. PEACH, OF BATH.
GOVERNMENT BY PARTY : Its Strength and its Weakness. Small 8vo. 1879.
IMPERIALISM AND THE Crown. Demy 8vo. 1879.
THE CHURCH OF ENGLAND : Its importance in connection with the State. Demy 8vo. 1880.
CONSERVATISM: What it is ; what it is not. Small 8vo. 1881.
RAMBLES ABOUT BATA AND ITS NEIGHBOURHOOD. With Woodcuts and Autotypes, pp. 470. Price, Six Shillings. Small 8vo. 1876.
DITTO, pp. 481. Ditto. Small 8vo. 1878.
HISTORIC HOUSES IN BATH AND THEIR ASSOCIATIONS. pp. 180. Small 4to. 1883.
Ditto, Second Series. pp. 160. Uniform. 1884.
LIVES OF OLD Bath PAYSICIANS. First Series. Written for the Bath Herald. (Second Series in progress.)
BATH IN THE DAYS OF FIELDING AND SMOLLETT. Written for Bath Chronicle.
Articles in the Antiquary on Ralph Allen, the Building of Prior Park, etc. 1885, 1886.
Sketches of the Lives of Sir John Harington, William Prynne, and Christopher Anstey. Eleven altogether. Written for Bladud, a local literary paper. 1886.
THE ABBEY CHURCH OF BATH : Its History and Associations. With Seven Illustrations. Price, Six Shillings. Small 4to. 1887.
THE HOSPITAL OF ST. JOHN BAPTIST, Bath : Its History and Associations. Price, Four Shillings. Small 4to. 1886.
PRACTICAL CHEMISTS AND DRUGGISTS,
8 Broad Street, BATH.
IMPORTERS OF NATURAL MINERAL WATERS.
GERMAN, FRENCH & AMERICAN PROPRIETARY MEDICAL PREPARATIONS.
EAU DE COLOGNE, TURKEY SPONGE, &c.
In the Department for the Sale of Patent Medicines, Perfumery, Medical and Surgical Appliances, Elastic Stockings, Anklets, KneeCaps, Trusses, Syringes, India Rubber Goods, and General Chemists' Stores, all Articles are Warranted Genuine and SOLD FOR CASH at
the London Stores Prices.
Proprietors of WALKER's well-known FAMILY APERIBNT, BILIOUS and LIVER PILLS. Price 1/1/d and 2/9 per Box.
WALKER'S SEDATIVE EXPECTORANT LOZENGES, for Coughs, Colds, Asthma, and in Consumptive cases are found Invaluable. Price 71d., 1/14, and 2/9 per Box.