Pagina-afbeeldingen
PDF
ePub

ER R A T A.

On pages 2 and 20, for 1707 read 1607; p. 9, for “ July” read May; p. 111, for “bolt” read bolter ; p. 133, for “ Jane" read James ; p. 318, for “Freeman Luce Daggett” read John S. Daggett; p. 323 for “ John Hawes" read John Brown; p. 360, for “sergeant-major" read major; p. 390, for “windward ” read leeward.

The inaccuracy of the different records which have been transcribed has led to inconsistency in regard to several names ; the middle name of the same individual in some instances being omitted, and in others retained.

HISTORY OF UNION.

[merged small][ocr errors]

HISTORY OF UNION.

CHAPTER I.

GEOGRAPHY.

Situation. Boundaries. Rivers and Brooks. Ponds.

Climate. - Freshets. – Hail and Frogs. - Lightning. and Longevity. — Scenery.

Soil.
Health

SITUATION. The town of Union, in the county of Lincoln and State of Maine, is situated in about 44° 15' north latitude, and 7° 50' east longitude from the city of Washington. The Common, or principal village, is twenty-eight miles east-south-east of Augusta, eight miles from the head of the tide-waters of St. George's River at Warren, and twelve miles from the State Prison in Thomaston.

BOUNDARIES. The town is bounded on the south and south-west by Warren and Waldoborough; on the west by Medomac River, which separates it from Washington; and on the north and north-east by Appleton and Hope and Camden, till at its eastern extremity it makes with Camden and Warren an angle on the north-west side of Mount Pleasant, near its summit.

RIVERS AND BROOKS. St. GEORGE's River, formerly the Segochet, Segohquet, or Segocket, enters the town through Sunnybec Pond on the north. After running about a mile and a half, in which it passes Hills' Mills and Bachelor's Mills, it flows in a westerly and southerly direction into Round Pond. Thence it runs east into Seven-tree Pond. Its course afterwards is southerly through Warren, towards the Atlantic Ocean.1

The PETTENGILL STREAM runs from the Cedar Swamp in Appleton, across a corner of Union, by

Belonging to the splendid library of John Carter Brown, of Providence, R.I. is a manuscript, copied from the “Mus. Brit. Bibl. Sloan. No. 1622.” It is the “ historie of Trauaile into virginia Britania ... gathered & observed as well by those who went first thither, as collected by William Strachey, Gent.” In a detailed account of the unsuccessful attempt to plant a colony at “ Sachadehoc,” the name of this river is incidentally introduced and spelled Segohquet. Capt. John Smith, in his “ Generall Historie,” spells it Segocket. David Crockett, Esq. of Rockland, who has had much intercourse with the Penobscot Indians for sixty or seventy years, thinks they did not give the name Segocket to any part but the branch which rises in Cushing, and, pursuing a north and west course, joins the main river near the dividing line of Union and Warren. He says, moreover, that Governor Neptune, of the Penobscots, told him Jorgis, or Chorchis, as the word is pronounced by them, is the Indian word for George's, and that the meaning is “ delightsome" or " delightful.” Governor Sullivan, in a Topographical Description of Thomaston, in the Collections of the Massachusetts Historical Society, vol. iv. says “its Indian name was Georgekee, from whence was probably derived its present name of George's.” May not the governor be mistaken in spelling the word Georgekee, instead of Georgekeag; and the terminal syllable have been used to mean the same as in Wessaweskeag, another place in the vicinity; and the Indians have prefixed the word George's, which was in use by the whites after the river was discovered ?

In 1605, Capt. George Weymouth, probably in honor of the patronsaint of England, gave the name St. George's to an island, which, according to Rosier's description, agrees with Monhegan. St. George's now is the name of a cluster of islands. St. George's Island Harbor, at the mouth of St. George's River, is probably the place which Weymouth visited, and named Pentecost Harbor. There can be but little doubt that the river derived its name from the island mentioned by Rosier. The five Indians seized and carried off by Weymouth, it is supposed, were taken from this river. That there was an Indian village on the river seems probable from Capt. John Smith's map, on which he assigns to a village the name Norwich, given by Prince Charles, afterward King Charles the First. May not this village have been at the fishing-ground by the head of the tide in Warren

The Strachey MS. states, that, when Popham was on the way to Sagadahock in 1707, he anchored near “St. George his Island,” and “ found a Crosse sett vp, one of the same wch Capt. George Weymou .... left upon this Island.” On Sunday, Aug. 7, “ the chief of both

« VorigeDoorgaan »