Pagina-afbeeldingen
PDF
ePub
[graphic]

BOUNDARIES.

AMELIA COUNTY.

At a Quarterly Court held for Amelia County on Thursdaythe 26th day of March 1789, present: Edmund Booker, Henry Anderson, Peter Lamkin, and Edmund Booker, Jr., Gentlemen. Peter Randolph, Richard Jones, William C. Craddock, and Richard Ogebly (Ogilby is the name) gentlemen, or any two of them (one being from each Parish) are appointed Commissioners to attend the County Surveyor (or in case he cannot attend, any other surveyor that may be approved of by the said Commissioners) in running the dividing line between Amelia Co. and Nottoway Co., and for them to employ such necessary [help?] that may be wanting and the Commissioners to make their report to the Court of Amelia and the Court of Nottoway.

April 24th, 1789, at a Court, the report of the Commissioners was made and ordered to be recorded. At same Court, ordered that William Cross Craddock be paid £2.20 for expenses in running the dividing line between the county of Amelia and Nottoway; Peter Randolph 8s. 3d.; Richard Jones £1.16.10; To Joseph Woodson, John Blankenship and James Craddock, £2.8.0 for eight days service as chain bearers at 6s per day; John Craddock £2.8 [?] for provider of rations.

To John Dejernatt for running the county line, £40.7 and for him to account to amount of 76 or sixteenth part to Sherwood Walton for use of the Colage.68 Order Book 1788-91, p. 145-6.

NOTTOWAY.

The eastern boundary of Nottoway was defined by an act of the House of Burgesses in 1734, the purpose of which was to divide the then county of Prince George in two and to fix the limits of the new county of Amelia. The act was to take effect in 1735. (Hening, "Statutes at Large," Vol. 4, page 467.)

The line fixed as the east boundary of Amelia (which has since become that for Nottoway as far as that county extends) begins "at the mouth of Namozain Creek, up the same to the main or John Hamlin's fork of the said creek; thence up the south or the lowest branch thereof to White Oak Hunting Path; and thence by a south course to strike Nottoway River."

The west line of Nottoway was defined by an act of the House of Burgesses separating Prince Edward from Amelia in 1753 (Hening, "Statutes at Large," Vol. 6, p. 379) and was

68 Probably refers to fees required of surveyors to be paid to William and Mary College. Surveyors at that time were commissioned by the Governor on recommendation of the college.

"to run from Ward's Ford on Appomattox River to the mouth of Snail's Creek on Nottoway River."

The northern county line was defined by an act of the House of Delegates, 1788, to take effect, 1789, (Hening, Vol. 12, p. 723) separating Nottoway from Amelia and describing the former as "all that part of said county (Amelia) lying south of a line to begin at a place called Well's bridge on Namozene Creek, which divides said county from the county of Dinwiddie, thence running through the county of Amelia so as to strike the line of Prince Edward County, five miles west of a place called Ward's Ford on Appomattox River," etc.

By a subsequent act, 1792 (Hening, Vol. 13, p. 561), this line was changed and it was enacted "that the county line shall in the future be considered as the line of separation of said. parishes (Raleigh and Nottoway)."

N. B. It will be seen that you will have to get the act defining Raleigh and Nottoway Parishes (somewhere in Hening between 1734 and 1776) to ascertain the exact line for Amelia and Nottoway. I have no reference to this in my papers.69

COUNTY RECORDS.

AMELIA COUNTY.

Amelia County Court Order Book, No. 1.

1735: Charles Irby one of the justices. Stephen Dewey qualified as attorney. Abraham Burton appointed surveyor of the road from Flatt Creek to Sappony Ford and Deep Creek lower bridge. William Green surveyor ye aforesaid bridge to Namozeen Road. John Ferguson surveyor of the road from Flatt Creek and down Anderson's Road. Lewis Tanner ordered to clear road from the bridge below Mrs. Anderson's quarter to Buckskin. Robert Tucker surveyor of that road from Namozine Bridge to Sweat House Creek. John Nance appointed surveyor from Butterwood to the coming in of the race paths near Mr. Irby's. Christopher Robertson surveyor from Bagley's order [ordinary?] to Captain Stark's quarter. Francis Man surveyor of road across Beaverpond branch into Anderson's Road. Christopher Hinton surveyor road over the Sweathouse Creek below Abraham Jones's Quarter into the Main Road. David Lyles surveyor of a bridle way from the Rattle Snake ford to the church on Flatt Creek. William Clark surveyor of road from West Creek to the fork of the road near Captain Peter Jones's quarter. William Crawley surveyor from Captain Peter Jones's fork where Clark lives off to Wintercomake. William Watson, Gent., county surveyor. Robert Taylor surveyor from Mrs. Anderson's Bridge to Deep Creek Bridge. John Benson

69 Not given in Hening's "Statutes at Large"; cf Meade, "Old Churches, Ministers and Families of Virginia" (1861) V. 2, p. 23.

[graphic]
[graphic]

appointed to clear a bridle way from West Creek to the Court House. John Winingham appointed to clear a bridle way from West Creek to the Chapell on Nottoway. Row surveyor from Dabney's to the Cuttbanks. Edmund Franklin surveyor of the road from the bent creek into Booker's Road. James Anderson appointed surveyor of the highways where Christopher Robertson was surveyor. George Bagbey (or Bagley) surveyor of the highways from the Celler to Dandys Race paths.

County Levy: Robert Bolling, Gent., for running the line between Prince George and this county, 1196 (I don't know whether tobacco or what); Richard Jones for 2 old wolfs 320; William Moses 5 young wolfs 400; other wolfs 960-1680; 588 tithables @ 16 per poll (lbs. of tobacco), 9408.

1736: Samuel Pincham surveyor of the Road from Flatt Creek to Smax Creek in room of Abraham Burton (deceased). James Clark licensed to keep ordinary near Namozine. Thomas Bevill licensed to keep ordinary. John Ferguson surveyor of the road from Flatt Creek to Court House. Negro slave returned to Isham Epes, of Prince George. Ferry established on Appomattox to be kept by Thomas Bevill. John Burton, sheriff. Three thousand four hundred and thirty allowed in bounty for twenty-nine wolf heads. Tithables, 649 at twelve pounds of tobacco per head.

1737: Richard Booker to contract for a boat to be kept by Thomas Bevill, who is to set over [free] all persons inhabiting this county and all others having tithables therein and charge others, four pence for man and horse, eight pence for a cart, four pence for chair to two wheel chaise. Charles Burkes surveyor of a Road to be cleared from the Court House to Anderson's Road near the race paths, etc. Robert Vaughan surveyor of Road to be cleared to Thomas Bottom's on West Creek to the Old Ponds of Flatt Creek along or near the Old Ridge Path. William Echols surveyor of road to be cleared from the White Oak on Flatt Creek to John Hurt's near the fork of Stock's Creek. John Dawson surveyor of road to be cleared from Flatt Creek to or near the fork of Saylor's Creek. Thomas Bevill, ordinary license renewed. Samuel Jordan is appointed surveyor of the Nottoway Road in room of John Nance and he is ordered to clear and keep same in repair. Charles Irby, gent., appointed to take list of tithables from Deep Creek downwards the extent of the county. Henry Anderson, gent., to take list between Deep and Flatt creeks. John Dawson, gent., to take list from Flatt Creek to the extent of the county upwards. Upon petition, John and Thomas Jackson, Harper and others, leave is given them "to clear a road from the county line between Tomahitton and the Birchen Swamps to the Chappel on Nottoway the most convenient way, etc. Lawrence Brown and Field Jefferson allowed to condemn one acre land on north side West Creek, belonging to Thos. Tabb, gent., for a mill, Brown and Jefferson owning on

opposite side. William Marshall surveyor of the High Waies from Deep Creek to Knibbs Creek to clear the same and keep in repair. Samuel Hudson surveyor of the High Waies from Craddock's on Flatt Creek to Bush River, clear and keep the same in repair. Thomas Covington surveyor of the High Waies from Tanner's to Craddock's-clear, etc. County levy for bounty on thirty-six wolfe heads. Thomas Bevill for keeping the Ferry, 520 (pounds tobacco; I reckon). Leave granted to clear a road from the county line between Tomahitton and the Burchen Swamp to the chappell on Nottoway. Henry Robertson petitioned for condemnation of 1 acre on Little Nottoway, property of William Yarbro, for a mill. 759 Tithables at eighteen per poll (pounds of tobacco per poll), 13662.

1738: Clement Read qualified attorney. Henry Robertson's petition for one acre for a mill on Little Nottoway belonging to William Yarbro, and the latter summoned. William Baldwin licensed to keep Ordinary at Court House. Richard Bowker, gent., to clear a road from his mill to Flatt Creek bridge. County levy for twenty-three wolves. 870 tithables at ten pounds tobacco per poll. On motion Joseph Morton, ordered that road be cleared from George Walker's plantation to Buffalo River-to be cleared by "the people above Bush River together with Joseph Morton their surveyor." Ordered that Mr. Walker's people clear from said Walker's plantation into the road from Col. Randolph's Quarters so down as far as before appointed but not above where Walker's Road runs into Col. Randolph's.

1739: Charles Irby qualified as sheriff. William Hudson surveyor of West Creek Road in place of William Clarke. John Leverett appointed surveyor of the road from Letbetter's low grounds on Nottoway River the nearest way to Butterwood road. Edward Booker, gent., to take tithables between Deep and Flatt creeks. Francis Anderson, gent., to take tithables above Flatt Creek. William Watson, gent., to take tithables below Deep Creek. Joseph Morton, Jr., appointed to mark out and clear a road from Colonel Richard Randolph's Quarter to the ridge which divides the county from Brunswick, the nearest and best way, etc. Richard Jones, gent., appointed to meet Commissioner from Prince George and agree to let a bridge over Namozain Creek, and reported that it had been let to Daniel Coleman. Petition of sundry inhabitants in this county for a ferry at the Cut banks-mouth Flatt Creek. Matthew Talbot surveyor, road from Flatt Creek to the Church, and that it be cleared soon as convenient. William Yarbro appointed surveyor of a road to be cleared from the head of James Anderson's road to the head of Cold Water Run upon the ridge between Nottoway River and the Lazaretta Creek. The persons to do the same, Henry Yarbro, Christopher Robertson, Jr., Edward Robertson, Robert Rowland and Richard Hix. Edward Booker, gent., surveyor of road to be cleared most convenient way from his house to the

[graphic]
[graphic]

Church. John Burton appointed to continue his road from Flatt Creek to the Court House. Henry Anderson surveyor of the road in place of William Marshall. Ordered that a road be cleared from Booker's Mill into Lyle's road to the Court House.

County levy, Nov. 1739: 3710 (lbs. tobacco, I reckon) for wolf heads. 800 to Thomas Bevill for keeping Ferry. 3786 levied to build a bridge over Appomattox River. 943 tithables at twenty-two pounds tobacco per head.

1740: Richard Jones proved his importation in order to take up land, and that he came from Bristoll in 1732. Ordered that road whereon Arthur Leigh is surveyor be continued to Nottoway River and that Mr. Thomas's hands be employed thereon and that the road whereon Leverett is surveyor be neglected. A petition, Thomas Foster and others, that road from the Church to Stock's Creek may be continued to Sandy Creek, filed, and Commissioners appointed. Abraham Cocke, gent., to take list of tithables below Deep Creek. Thomas Tabb, gent., to take list of tithables between Deep and Flatt creeks. John Burton, gent., to take list of tithables above Flatt Creek. Ordered that Mr. Walker's road be cleared from Saylor's Creek to Crawford's and from thence into Burton's Road to Court House. Petition for bridge over Appomattox where road is already cleared at or near Jenneytoe. Richard Booker and Joseph Scott appointed to confer with Goochland Court. Arthur Leigh appointed to clear a road as Abraham Cock. and Samuel Jordan shall direct from Mr. Cock's Mill into the Church road, the same people employed as on the road Leigh was before surveyor of. Richard Booker, Thomas Tabb and Joseph Scott, gents., appointed Commissioners with Goochland Commissioners to let the bridge over Appomattox at Jenytoe. John Thomas appointed to clear a road from Jordan's Bridge the best way into Mr. Cock's Road; the persons to be employed thereon, Thomas and James Anderson, John Thomas, Thomas Taylor and all other male tithables. Matthew Cabiness surveyor of a road to be cleared from James Anderson's road into Jordan's road and so to Nottoway Chapell. Stephen Dewey, attorney for King.

County levy: Edward Booker, gent., his allowance as Burgess, 1900; Richard Jones, gent., his allowance as Burgess, 1845; Fifteen wolves; Thomas Bevill, for keeping Ferry, 1000; 1094 tithables at twenty-one lbs. tobacco per head. Total levy 23,394.

1741: John Burton, gent., fined for not keeping in repair road from Stock's Creek to Sandy Creek. William Barnes, surveyor of the road from Stock's Creek to Saylor's Creek, and the hands above Stock's Creek formerly employed on Burton's Road to assist. Henry Tartoe (?) surveyor road from Stock's Creek to the Court House-all hands below Stock's Creek to assist. Ordered that the bridle way from Robert Vaughan's to the Court House be kept open where the path now is. Commissioners report that Goochland Court refuse to join in building bridge at

« VorigeDoorgaan »