Pagina-afbeeldingen
PDF
ePub

covered: a sum not exceeding six pounds is given with every boy as an apprentice-fee, and two pounds with every girl.

SUNDAY SCHOOLS were established in Bath, in 1785, by Henry Southby, esq. for the instruction of the children of poor people, who have no other means of learning their social duties. A subscription sufficient for this purpose was raised in a short time; and at a public meeting of the subscribers, the clergy of the city, and several gentlemen of respectability, were appointed as a committee for conducting the business of the establishment: the principal resolutions adopted were as follow:

Ist. That the appointment of masters and mistresses should be in the Rectors of Bath and Walcot.

2nd. That the books of instruction should be such only as are recommended by the society for promoting christian knowledge.

3rd. That the children should attend divine service every Sunday at the Abbey.

4th. That all children recommended from the parishes of Bath, Walcot, Widcombe, and Bathwick, should be admitted into the schools.

The Sunday Schools now consist of upwards of seven hundred children, from which the scholars of the School of Industry are selected, where they are employed in reading, sewing, knitting, &c. under the superintendance of proper mistresses, and the inspection of four ladies and four gentlemen, and uni. formly clothed at the expence of the institution. They make an appearance every Sunday at church, gratifying in the high est degree to every christian spectator, and evidently shew the great utility of the establishment.

SCHOOL OF INDUSTRY, AND DAILY SCHOOL ON DR. BELL'S PLAN.

The progress made by the children in this establishment having exceeded the most sanguine expectations of those in. terested in its welfare, and anxious of extending its benefits to

numbers who stand in need of instruction, but owing to the confined situation of the present building could not be received; the Committee have determined on erecting a schoolroom capable of containing about five hundred children. In furtherance of such design, subscriptions have been set on foot, and their appeal to the public has met with a gratifying reception. Subscriptions continue to be received at the PumpRooms, Libraries, Messrs. Hobhouse and Co.'s Bank, and by Mr. Shuttleworth, 5, Prince's-street, Queen-square.

THE BATH AND BATH-FORUM FREE-SCHOOL, (LATE THE ROYAL LANCASTERIAN)

For the gratuitous Education of poor Boys on the System of Dr. Bell with the Improvements of Mr. Lancaster.

The building, situate in Corn-street, is lofty and spacious, having been built for a Roman Catholic Chapel; it is fitted up to accommodate three hundred boys.

This school was established in 1810, and owes its rise to the exertions of Mr. Lancaster, who first organized it by means of one of his own school-masters; but is at present conducted by a young man qualified for the purpose at the Lancasterian School at Birmingham, which is justly celebrated, and is certainly inferior to none, not even the great school in the Borough-road.

Notwithstanding the managers consented that the mechani cal business of the school should be Lancasterian, yet they reserved to themselves a liberty to adopt any improvements or alterations they might be inclined to make.

As by far the most considerable part of the boys belong to the Church of England, the church catechizm has been from the beginning taught the children who were members of it; but those of other denominations are left at liberty either to comply in this respect or not; and whilst the boys of the es tablishment are instructed in the catechism, dissenters are expected to learn some portion of scripture.

This indiscriminate mixture of children of all religious persuasions has certainly a good effect in removing prejudice; and the allowing of all poor boys freely to share in the benefits and blessings which this school holds out, is highly creditable to the liberality of the managers. The advantage of the mechanical system of education becomes daily more obvious, by the great increase of schools for the poor; and the desire of our venerable sovereign seems likely to be realized, "That every child in the British dominions might be taught to read his bible." The institution is managed by a committee of about 20 gentlemen, of whom Sir Horace Mann, bart. is the chairman, and Mr. W. Davis and Mr. T. Roberts are joint secretaries and sub-treasurers.

Strangers resorting to Bath find amusement in visiting the school in Corn-street, which may be seen, without tickets of recommendation, any day except.Saturday from 10 to 12.

The school being dependant on the bounty of the public, subscriptions are received at the Banks, Libraries, and PumpRooms, and by the master of the school.

UNION BLUE-COAT SCHOOL.

This school was established in July 1808, for the purpose of instructing youth in the principles of religion, morality, and the necessary acquirements to enable them to obtain a decent living in some part of handicraft, or other useful employment which may present itself. Sufficient recommendation to this charity is poverty and utter inability in parents to provide instruction for their offspring. From the enlarged state of this city since an establishment of this kind was first projected, (now nearly a century) there has been an increase of popula tion as three to one; consequently the poor has in the same ratio multiplied, which loudly called for an undertaking of this kind. It is open to all parties and persuasions who wish to embrace the benefits it so laudably holds out.

A subscriber of three guineas per annum is entitled to pre

sent one boy to the school, who will be clothed and educated. Contributions are received at the school, Mr. Young's, Charles-street, and at the Libraries.

ARGYLE CHAPEL SUNDAY SCHOOL.

This institution was established in 1802 for the instruction of poor children in reading, & in the first principles of Christianity. Its object is not confined to the inculcation of parti cular sentiments, but to "train up children in the way they should go, that when they are old they may not depart from Some of the boys are also taught writing. A president and a committee of nineteen gentlemen manage the affairs of this charity. Subscriptions and donations are received by Mr. Whitchurch, Market-place, and Mr. Taylor, Bridge-str.

it."

LADY HUNTINGDON's CHAPEL SUNDAY SCHOOL

For the education of poor children, was instituted in June 1812. The first object of this institution is to instruct in the holy scriptures those children who are obliged to labour daily for a scanty subsistence. It also receives the children of poor parents who are willing to separate them from the idle and dis. solute, and from the contagion of bad example, too prevalent amongst the lower classes of this city and its neighbourhood; and every endeavour is used to instil into the infant mind early notions of piety and virtue.

The school-room is in Somerset-court, Guinea-lane; is governed by a committee of eight gentlemen; and at present consists of eighty boys and fifty girls.

THE HOUSE OF PROTECTION

No. 10, Lansdown-road, was established under the auspices

of Lady Isabella King, in the year 1805, for the reception of twelve young females destitute of friends, and is confined to the inhabitants of Bath. The affairs of this charity are managed by a ladies' committee, and the following respectable personages:

Lady Isabella King, Patroness.

Sir. J. W. Smith,

GUARDIANS,

Rev. J. Richards, Rev. J. L. Salvador, and C. Phillott, esq.

and nine governesses, who in rotatiou visit the house daily. Further information respecting this charity may be acquired at the institution, between the hours of twelve and two. Subscriptions are received by Messrs. Hobhouse aud Co.

BATH PENITENTIARY.

This institution, established November, 1805, has for its object the reclaiming of those unfortunate victims of passion and seduction who are too often driven to seek the means of support by the wages of prostitution; it is similar in design to the London Magdalen Hospital, and has been increasingly useful in promoting the benevolent views of its founders. It is situated in Lady-mead, Walcot,street. Subscriptions are received by the treasurers, Messrs. Hobhouse and Co. Mr. Whitchurch, the secretary, and at the libraries.

THE STRANGER'S FRIEND SOCIETY

Was first established here in the year 1789, and is conduct. ed upon the broad basis of universal philanthrophy': unbiassed by party distinctions, it extends its bounty (as far as its finan. ces will allow) alike to all; one thing only is requisite for

« VorigeDoorgaan »