« VorigeDoorgaan »
count that can at all gratify rational curiosity, or satisfy even moderate expectation !"
It however appears, that the spirit of research is, not extinct in the neighbourhood of Bath, and the interesting remains of ancient times are daily presented to the admiring and scrutinizing eyes of the antiquary. Exclusive of the spirited enterprises so successfully pursued by the Rev. Mr. Skinner, at Roundhill-tining and at Camerton, and the accessions still continuing to be made by attentive individuals in and near Bath, of which no correct opinion has yet been laid before the publie, the following articles were developed in September, 1818:1. A sepulchral urn, with human bones and ashes, and a small brass coin of the usurper Carausius, at Walcot. 2. A fine medal of Faustina Augusta, reverse Lucina, in brass, at the same place. 3. A tesselated mosaic pavement, in Kingsmead, behind Norfolk-Crescent. 4. An oblong square stone sarcophagus, containing a complete human skeleton, (other contents not yet ascertained), dug near Mr. Harris's, statuary, above Bathwick New Church. 5. A celt, (or more probably) an axe for hewing timber, found at Bathwick. This instrument is formed of a hard gray stone, of that species called the Hanham pennant: it is nearly 13 inches in length, of massive dimensions, well contrived for effect, and evidently designed to be fastened to its handle by thongs, in the manner found to be usual in all barbarous nations, where the use of the metals has been unknown: it is probably the largest instrument of its kind at present extant; and, presuming it
to have been antecedent to the introduction of the arts into Britain by the Romans, must be at least 1800 years old, though it is probably much older : it is in the possession of Mr. O'Niel.-It is to be hoped, that those persons who may have
, to superintend any of the numerous excavations now making in and about Bath, will not suffer any thing they may find to be mutilated or destroyed, merely because they may not themselves perceive any value in it; remembering that, as the thoughtless destruction of the TIN TABLET dug up at Stone-henge, in the time of King Henry VIII. probably buried the origin of that extraordinary fabric in eternal oblivion, so it is not impossible that the future discovery of some similar memorial may either ascertain the origin of Bath, or throw additional light on the obscurity of its ancient history.
On the visitor's retracing his steps past the Walks, the prospects from the North and South Parades may be viewed again and again with increased interest and pleasure ; particularly from the latter Parade, so attractive during the colder months. The eye ascending towards Pryor Park; the picturesque appearance of the hanging woods of Beechen-Cliff, added to the luxurient beauties of Claverton-Down:
Sweet are yon hills that crown this fertile vale !
Yon pine-clad mountain's side,
Where Avon rolls his pride.
And Pindus' flow'ry path,
And verdant meads of Bath.
Contiguous to the South Parade, ground has been marked out, and a plan begun, towards an elegant new square, (to be called KingstonSquare) and also several new streets ; near to which are Henry, Phillip's, Evelyn, Manvers, Harris, and Orchard Streets. The OLD THEATRE, in the latter thoroughfare, was, in 1809, converted into a convenient and spacious Catholic Chapel, which has to boast of a most excellent choir, a very fine-toned organ, and a numerous congregation. In 1780, during the riots, the Romish Chapel, near St. James's Parade, was burnt down; and a gentleman's servant of the name of Butler, who was particularly active in this disgraceful affair, was executed upon a gallows near the above Parade.
On re-crossing the Ferry, towards the right of the road are several pieces of ground set apart for the erection of places, streets, &c. The view of Pulteney-Bridge, &c. alongside the Avon, is interesting till the visitor's arrival at the New Church, where, if he feels inclined to prolong his walk, there is a road that leads to Claverton-Down, leaving Sidney-Wharf on his left. If home is the word, pass Great GeorgeStreet, through Darlington-Street, and SydneyPlace immediately appears in sight.
From PORTLAND-Place through Burlington-Street and
Place, Harley-Street, Gloucester Place and Street.
PORTLAND-Place is an elevated pleasant situation, commanding a good prospect; the houses are capacious and elegant; but, in point of appearance, it cannot compare with that distinguished place of residence in the Metropolis. Pass through Burlington-Street, at the bottom of which is Burlington-Place; and on the right is Harley-Street, in which is PortlandChapel, a neat building of free-stone, erected in 1816. On the left is Gloucester-Place, leading directly to Gloucester-Street. In any of the above thoroughfares there is nothing of any particular importance to arrest the progress of the visitor, nor in the following streets contiguous to them, Ballance-Street, Lampard-Buildings, and Murford-Street. Cross Cottle's Lane to Rivers-Street, which leads to Catharine Place,
where the houses are enclosed in the form of a square, but it has no iron-rails. Here chairs ply for fairs, for the accommodation of this part of the City. Pass through Margaret-Buildings, in which is situated Margaret-Chapel, built by Mr. Wood, after the Gothic order. Its appearance is light and elegant, from the roof having no supporters: in length it is 73 feet, 60 wide, and 37 high, with galleries. Over the altar is a fine picture of the Wise Men's Offerings, painted by Mr. Williams. It has a fine-toned organ, and is kept warm by two of Buzaglo's stoves. Divine service is performed here every Sunday, at eleven and five; and on Weduesdays, prayers at eleven, This chapel was opened, in 1770, by that unfortunate but eloquent preacher, Dr. W. Dodd. The above buildings are adapted to trade, being full of shops; and on the left is Brock-Street, a respectable place of residence, leading into the CIRCUS. Upon entering this noble circular building, the eye of the visitor is delighted with the uniformity and grandeur of the scene. It bursts upon him by surprise, and its Roman appearance is very impressive. The houses are peculiarly attractive and interesting, having between each of the various stories, two pillars of the Ionic, Doric, and Corinthian orders of architecture; and are also decorated with pumerous sculptured medallions. In the middle of the Circus is a shrubbery, and a gravel-walk surrounding a reservoir, from which the houses are supplied with water. This little promenade is enclosed with a circular iron-railing, allowing a most spacious carriage-road all round it. It was built after the design of the elder Mr.