The Selfish Gene: 30th Anniversary edition

OUP Oxford, 16 mrt. 2006 - 384 pagina's
2606 Recensies
The million copy international bestseller, critically acclaimed and translated into over 25 languages. This 30th anniversary edition includes a new introduction from the author as well as the original prefaces and foreword, and extracts from early reviews. As relevant and influential today as when it was first published, The Selfish Gene has become a classic exposition of evolutionary thought. Professor Dawkins articulates a gene's eye view of evolution - a view giving centre stage to these persistent units of information, and in which organisms can be seen as vehicles for their replication. This imaginative, powerful, and stylistically brilliant work not only brought the insights of Neo-Darwinism to a wide audience, but galvanized the biology community, generating much debate and stimulating whole new areas of research.

Wat mensen zeggen - Een review schrijven


5 sterren
4 sterren
3 sterren
2 sterren
1 ster

LibraryThing Review

Gebruikersrecensie  - last - LibraryThing

Best Popular Science Book Ever Best Biology Book This books changes everything After reading this book you'll definitely change you. Buy latest anniversary edition and read notes at the end of the book! In audiobook edition notes are included! Volledige review lezen

LibraryThing Review

Gebruikersrecensie  - Hebephrene - LibraryThing

It may be that genetics can never be rendered clearly for the laymen. I certainly struggled with this despite Dawkins reputation as a man who could explain complex subjects gracefully. The central ... Volledige review lezen

Alle 13 beoordelingen »


Introduction to 30th anniversary edition
Foreword to first edition
LOOONQOTPOJN The replicators Battle of the sexes
You scratch my back Ill ride on yours
the new replicators
Nice guys finish first
The long reach of the gene
Updated bibliography
Index and key to bibliography
Extracts from reviews

Overige edities - Alles weergeven

Veelvoorkomende woorden en zinsdelen

Over de auteur (2006)

Richard Dawkins is the first holder of the Charles Simonyi Chair of the Public Understanding of Science at Oxford, Fellow of New College, Oxford, Fellow of the Royal Society, and Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature. His bestselling books include The Extended Phenotype (1982) and its sequel The Blind Watchmaker (1986), River Out of Eden (1995), Climbing Mount Improbable (1996), Unweaving the Rainbow (1998), A Devil's Chaplain (2004) and The Ancestor's Tale (2004). He has won many literary and scientific awards, including the 1987 Royal Society of Literature Award, the 1990 Michael Faraday Award of the Royal Society, the 1994 Nakayama Prize for Human Science, the 1997 International Cosmos Prize, and the Shakespeare Prize in 2005.

Bibliografische gegevens